National Academy of Engineering

Ivo Babuska

For contributions to the theory of implementation of finite element methods for computer-based engineering analysis and design

Thomas Hughes

For contributions to the development of finite element methods for solid-structural and fluid mechanics

Stelios Kyriakides

For contributions to the understanding of propagating instability phenomena in structures and materials and its use for technological applications

J. Tinsley Oden

For pioneering work in computational mechanics, which significantly advanced the transformation of nonlinear continuum mechanics into a powerful and widely-used engineering tool

Byron Tapley

For exceptional contributions to orbit determination theory, significant applications to satellite geodesy and oceanography, and leadership in engineering education

Mary Wheeler

For the computer simulation of subsurface flow and the underlying mathematical algorithms

Karen Willcox

For contributions to computational engineering methods for the design and optimal control of high-dimensional systems with uncertainties.