nasa concept image of icesat-2

Lori Margruder is playing a crucial role in NASA's ICESat-2 mission which is responsible for taking important measurements of our planet's key health indicators, including ice sheet mass balance, depth of bodies of water, cloud and aerosol heights, land topography and vegetation characteristics.

turbulent flow control figure

Turbulent air flows – vortices and eddies – can create challenging problems in the fields of aerospace engineering and transportation. These flows can cause drag on vehicles such as airplanes, spacecraft, trains and trucks, reducing their performance and increasing their fuel consumption.

group photo of lra team members

The aerospace engineering undergraduate program in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin has once again been named one of the top programs of its kind in the nation.

photo of various humanoid robots in alb

Ethics will be at the forefront of robotics education thanks to a new University of Texas at Austin program that will train tomorrow’s technologists to understand the positive — and potentially negative — implications of their creations.

image of hurricane ida storm surge

More than half of the U.S. population lives in coastal watershed counties or parishes. Coastal communities along the Gulf of Mexico are among the most heavily populated – also a region where high concentrations of energy resources have made it a national hub for many large-scale carbon-to-capture storage facilities.

photo of jayant sirohi

Jayant Sirohi has been named a Technical Fellow of the Vertical Flight Society (VFS) for 2021.

photo of thomas hughes

Thomas J.R. Hughes has been inducted as an Honorary Member into the Japan Association for Computational Mechanics (JACM).

group photo of faculty at us space force utep mou signing

The University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas at El Paso have signed agreements with the U.S. Space Force to provide advanced research and workforce development for the newest branch of the U.S. armed services. 

faculty promotions banner

Three faculty members in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics have been promoted to the rank of professor, effective Sept. 1, 2021 – Srinivas Bettadpur, Todd Humphreys and Ryan Russell. All have made significant impacts on the department's teaching and research efforts.

photo of david friedovich-keil

Learn more about our newest faculty member, David Fridovich-Keil, who joins us as an assistant professor this fall.