computational image of a heart valve

Professor Thomas Hughes coauthored this study to develop computational modeling techniques that, for the first time, enable accurate visualizations of heart valve behavior.

It is with sadness that we announce that retired professor Ronald O. Stearman passed away on July 21, 2020 after a brief illness. He was 88.

photo of students working in texas rocket engineering lab

Students in the Texas Rocket Engineering Lab have been busy preparing to rise above all other universities — in fact, all the way up to the edge of space — with the bold goal of becoming the first student team ever to design, build and launch a liquid-propellant rocket to the Karman Line, better known as the edge of space.

black stem virtual meeting screen shot

Students, faculty, staff and leadership from academic institutions across the U.S., including The University of Texas at Austin, came together this month in a virtual event to share experiences and barriers facing Black scholars in STEM fields.

legaci moon inscription example

Most humans will never set foot on the moon, but a group of students from the Cockrell School of Engineering have an intriguing idea to let anyone make their mark there.

oden institute logo

Two computational engineering majors, Katharine Fisher and Marcos Botto Tornielli, were selected to participate in the Moncrief Summer Internship Program offered by the Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences.

computational image of storm surge

Two aerospace engineering graduate students are recipients of 2020 Future Investigators in NASA Earth and Space Science Technology awards to support their research using Interferometric Synthetic Radar (InSAR) data.

photo of byron tapley

Professor Emeritus Byron Tapley was selected to receive the 2020 John Leland Atwood award presented jointly by the American Society of Engineering Education Aerospace Division and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Chloe Johnson pivoted between three computer monitors alongside fellow graduate student, Patrick Mortimer, as she powered the rotor testing rig, tucked away in a non-descript hangar on UT Austin’s J.J. Pickle Research Campus.

artwork with space a satellite

Moriba Jah, an expert in astrodynamics and space environmentalism, introduced his new opinion editorial column, Jahniverse, in AIAA's Aerospace America this week. Read the first piece which discusses NASA's Artemis Accords.