Tinsley OdenProfessor J. Tinsley Oden of the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at The University of Texas at Austin has been named to the Louisiana State University (LSU) Alumni Association Hall of Distinction. The designation is the highest honor awarded to a graduate of LSU.

The Hall of Distinction recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves and LSU through their careers, personal and civic accomplishments, volunteer activities and loyalty to their alma mater.

"LSU holds a special warm place in my heart," said Oden. "It's where I began on a road to adulthood, scholarship, science, engineering, new friends, and new surroundings that forever changed my life."

Other inductees are track Olympian Lori S. "Lolo” Jones, of Prairieville; J. Patrick Mulhearn, executive director of Celtic Studios in Baton Rouge; Newtron Group founder, owner and CEO Newton Thomas; David M. Suarez, president of the Atlantic Company of America, Washington, D.C.; and Herbert H. "Herb” Vincent, Jr., SEC associate commissioner of communications, Birmingham, Ala.

Oden earned a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from LSU in 1959. He earned a master’s degree in civil engineering and a Ph.D. in engineering mechanics from Oklahoma State University, and he has been awarded six honorary doctorates. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and has won numerous awards, including the 2013 Honda Prize for his role in establishing the field of computational mechanics.

Oden serves as associate vice president of research and is the founding director of the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES). He holds the Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering #2 and the Peter O’Donnell, Jr. Chair in Computer Systems.

The original version of this announcement was posted on the ICES website.