Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI)

The Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics (ASE/EM) at the Cockrell School of Engineering is committed to building an inclusive and equitable environment, free from all forms of hate, racism and injustice, where students, faculty and staff feel safe and supported. Every member of our community – whoever you are, wherever you are from and whatever you believe – is valued. Remember that you belong here.

ASE/EM DEI Committee

The DEI committee in the ASE/EM Department is currently developing several initiatives to strengthen diversity within the department while also striving to provide equitable opportunities and an inclusive environment for all students, faculty and staff. Current initiatives include creating and implementing a voluntary graduate mentorship program for newly admitted graduate students to provide them with a community and to help them overcome new challenges in graduate school. The committee is also developing strategies to engage with more prospective undergraduate students, with a special focus on the underrepresented groups.

During the Spring 2021 semester, the committee hosted an open discussion session with students to address violence against Asian/Asian Americans. This session allowed students to be heard and offered resources and self-protection tips while assuring them that the department supports and cares for all members of our community. Future discussions will continue to be offered as the need arises. The committee also met with every faculty candidate during their interview to introduce the departmental, school and university DEI environment and efforts as well as to learn about each candidate’s perspectives towards DEI.

cockrell school of engineering dei plan

ASE/EM DEI Committee Members

Nanshu Lu (chair)
John-Paul Clarke
Jingyi "Ann" Chen
David Fridovich-Keil
Todd Humphreys
Brandon Jones
Manuel Rausch

For questions, ideas, ways to get involved and more, contact:

Christine Julien
Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering