• The Center for Aeronautical Research (later The Center for Aeromechanics Research) was founded by Ronald O. Stearman.
  • Dr. Stelios Kyriakides joined the department faculty.


  • Dr. J. Parker Lamb assumed the chairmanship of the department.
  • The Center for Space Research was established under the direction of Dr. Byron Tapley.
  • NASA astronaut Paul S. Lockhart graduated with a Master’s of Science in Aerospace Engineering. He later served onboard two spaceflights, STS-111 and STS-113.



  • Sigma Gamma Tau, the national aerospace engineering honor society, elected Dr. Wallace Fowler as its National President.


  • TICOM hosted the First World Conference on Computational Mechanics.
  • Drs. Jeffrey Bennighof and Gregory Rodin joined the department faculty.



  • Dr. J. Tinsley Oden was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering.
  • Dr. Richard Miksad assumed the chairmanship of the department.
  • Dr. Hans Mark joined the department.


  • Dr. Philip Varghese joined the department faculty.

Explore Our History

1920s  •  1930s   •  1940s   •  1950s   •  1960s   •  1970s   •  1980s   •  1990s    2000s  •  2010s