Early 1970s

  • The Rocket Exhaust Effects Facility was built by John J. Bertin to study flow problems.
  • John J. Westkaemper designed and built a large subsonic wind tunnel for the Experimental Aerodynamics Laboratory with the help of student assistants.

 1973

  • The Texas Institute for Computational Mechanics (TICOM) was established by Drs. J. Tinsley Oden, Eric Becker, and Bob Dunham.

1974

  • The first departmental visiting committee was formed.

1977

  • Dr. Victor Szebehely assumed the chairmanship of the department.
  • The Engineering Laboratories Building was renamed W.R. Woolrich Laboratories in honor of W.R. Woolrich, Engineering dean from 1936 to 1958.

Explore Our History

1920s  •  1930s   •  1940s   •  1950s   •  1960s   •  1970s   •  1980s   •  1990s    2000s  •  2010s