• Research groups from Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics moved from Taylor Hall to the newly built Engineering Laboratories Building.
  • The first Ph.D. in the Aerospace Engineering was awarded to Felix Fenter.


  • Dr. Byron D. Tapley taught the first orbital mechanics courses at The University of Texas at Austin and began to develop a research program focusing on low-thrust trajectory analysis and optimization. 


  • Dr. Tapley assumed the chairmanship of the Aerospace Engineering department.


  • The separate departments of Engineering Mechanics and Aerospace Engineering were combined to become the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics.

Explore Our History

1920s  •  1930s   •  1940s   •  1950s   •  1960s   •  1970s   •  1980s   •  1990s    2000s  •  2010s