• The Experimental Aerodynamics Laboratory was founded by Milton J. Thompson in the Defense Research Laboratory to perform research on supersonic boundary layers at speeds five times faster than sound.


  • The Department of Engineering Mechanics granted its first Ph.D. to Robert Felgar.


  • The Container Research Laboratory (later the Structural Mechanics Research Laboratory) was established under the leadership of J. Neils Thompson.


  • The Engineering Laboratories Building (later the W.R. Woolrich Laboratories) was constructed.


  • The Department of Aeronautical Engineering was renamed the Department of Aerospace Engineering.

Explore Our History

1920s  •  1930s   •  1940s   •  1950s   •  1960s   •  1970s   •  1980s   •  1990s    2000s  •  2010s