Suk-kyu Ryu, an aerospace engineering graduate student, received a best presentation award from Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) TECHCON for his paper entitled “Thermal Mechanical Reliability of Air Gap Interconnects."

Armand Chaput has been selected by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Langley Research Center Systems Analysis and Concepts Directorate (SACD) as a member of the 2009 SACD Peer Review Team.

Thomas J.R. Hughes received an Honorary Doctorate from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway.

Aerospace engineering professor Gregory J. Rodin, engineering mechanics graduate student Reza Soheilifard, and College of Natural Sciences associate professor Dmitrii Makarov have co-authored a paper that has been chosen for the 2008 Highlights of the journal Physical Biology.

Wary Wheeler has been selected as a winner of the 2009-2010 W. A. “Tex” Moncrief, Jr. Simulation-Based Engineering and Sciences (SBES) Grand Challenge Faculty award.