J. Tinsley Oden has earned the 2009 Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession.

This year the Longhorn Rocket Association took large steps in the development of their program. Beginning in late January the LRA divided into two teams in order to develop several high powered amateur rockets. Each team had a goal in their design.

Thomas J.R. Hughes, an innovator in computational mechanics, has been elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States.

Stelios Kyriakides has been selected to receive the Warner T. Koiter Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Professors Ivo Babuska, Thomas J. R. Hughes and J. Tinsley Oden have been selected as Fellows of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) for their outstanding contributions to the fields served by SIAM.