Thomas Hughes has been selected as the recipient of a Humboldt Research Award for senior United States scientists.

Robert H. Bishop, has been appointed by President William Powers to serve as the Associate Director of the Texas Space Grant Consortium representing The University of Texas at Austin.

Bob E. Schutz has been selected to receive the 2008 Dirk Brouwer Award from the American Astronautical Society in recognition of his years of educational and professional contributions to astrodynamics and the aerospace profession.

Noel Clemens has been selected to serve as Editor-in-Chief of “Experiments in Fluids”, a top engineering journal published by Springer based in Heidelberg, Germany.

The Special Achievement Award for Young Investigators in Applied Mechanics, an award given annually by the Applied Mechanics Division, of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), has been renamed the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award.