November 19, 2009

Stelios Kyriakides, professor in the department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at The University of Texas at Austin, was awarded the 2009 Warner T. Koiter Medalist by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) on Tuesday November 17. The Medal was awarded in a special ceremony at the ASME 2009 International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition conference in Lake Buena Vista, Florida, following the delivery of the Koiter Lecture by the recipient. The Warner T. Koiter Medal, established in 1996, is in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics with special emphasis on the effective blending of theoretical and applied elements of the discipline, as well as having a high degree of leadership in the international solid mechanics community. The citation for the medal reads as follows: “For world class leadership in the area of experimental solid and structural mechanics, particularly the pioneering emphasis on instabilities in solids.”

Kyriakides holds the Cockrell Family Chair in Engineering No. 10.

Sarah Kitten and Adele Magnani

Undergraduate Advisors

Our undergraduate advising team is ready to help current and prospective students navigate their way through the degree plan and university life.

Phone: (512) 471-7594

peer advising students photo

Peer Advising

Peer advisors are current aerospace engineering students who can help fellow undergraduates in registration advising and general student mentorship. Peer advisors are available in the summer to incoming new students and during the fall and spring to all continuing students.

Learn more >>