Professor Glenn Lightsey was inducted into The University of Texas at Austin’s prestigious Academy of Distinguished Teachers during a ceremony honoring the new members on Monday, October 8. Lightsey was one of four faculty members inducted into the Academy for 2012.

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers, established in 1995, is limited to five percent of tenured faculty at the university. The selection criteria states that members will be “tenured faculty who have who have made sustained and significant contributions to teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level, within the context of their responsibilities as a full-time faculty member.”

Members will remain in the Academy for the duration of their tenure at UT Austin and are awarded the title of “University Distinguished Teaching Professor.”

“It feels great to be recognized for teaching and the award means a lot to me personally,” Lightsey said after receiving the award.

Lightsey joins three other ASE/EM faculty members who are also University Distinguished Teachers: Professor Wallace Fowler, Professor Philip Varghese and Emeritus Professor Marc Bedford.

Read more about Lightsey’s impact on undergraduate education and how he combines teaching with research in our news archive.