Nine months ago, a group of eager women in the UT Aerospace Engineering department joined together for the purpose of collaborating on a project to encourage the enhancement of their engineering leadership skills.

Professor Wallace Fowler has been presented with a 2010 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching award during a ceremony held on the University of Texas at Austin campus.

Haixia Mei, an Engineering Mechanics graduate student advised by Dr. Rui Huang, has received the Best Paper Award at the Twelfth Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems (ITherm 2010) held in June of 2010.

This year marked the UT Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) Group's second appearance at the 2010 Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI) Student Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) Competition, held in Lexington Park, Maryland.

Senior research scientist John Ries, who spent the last ten years at UT's Center for Space Research advancing the capability for the accurate determination of earth orbiting satellite, received this year's NASA Exceptional Technology Achievement Medal for his work.