Dr. Jayant Sirohi was selected to receive the ASME/Boeing Best Paper Award for a paper presented at the 2011 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Structures, Structural Dynamics and Materials Conference.

The fact that Rebekah Sosland, a senior aerospace engineering major, received a double nomination for the Texas Exes President’s Leadership Award attests not only to the strength of her leadership skills, but also the tremendous impact she has had on her fellow students and academic leaders.

Professor Ivo M. Babuska has been awarded a highly coveted lifetime achievement award from the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

Leszek Demkowicz has been named editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Computers and Mathematics with Applications.

Professor Glenn Lightsey has been elected to the Institute of Navigation's (ION) Council as Space Representative for a two-year term, beginning in January 2012. Lightsey previously served on the council from 1998-2000.