Four Students Receive Unrestricted Endowed Presidential Scholarships

May 18, 2021

photo of catherine dominic and kashish singal
Catherine Dominic (left), Kashish Singal (right), Joe Alappat (not shown) and Manisha Ganesh (not shown) received Unrestricted Endowed Presidential Scholarships for 2021-22.

Four undergraduate students in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics have received scholarships through the Unrestricted Endowed Presidential Scholarship (UEPS) program.

The following students will receive $2,500 for the upcoming 2021–2022 academic year:

Joe Alappat, Aerospace Engineering
Catherine Dominic, Aerospace Engineering
Manisha Ganesh, Computational Engineering
Kashish Singal, Aerospace Engineering

The UEPS program was created in 1973 to make available substantial scholarships to outstanding students at The University of Texas at Austin. UEPS recipients are nominated by their academic department and must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.75, among other prerequisites. Nominated students that demonstrate continuous participation in extracurricular activities and exhibit leadership in addition to being enrolled full-time are given the strongest consideration. Only about 15% of all eligible candidates are nominated for UEPS.