April 10, 2023

photo collage of 2023 academy of distinguished alumniTen Texas Engineering alumni of the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics (ASE/EM) at The University of Texas at Austin have been elected to the 2023 class of the ASE/EM Academy of Distinguished Alumni.

The ASE/EM Academy of Distinguished Alumni was established in 2019 with the vision to foster excellence within the aerospace engineering, engineering mechanics and computational engineering programs in the Texas ASE/EM through recognition, participation, encouragement and support of the department.

Members are recognized and honored by the academy for leading distinguished careers that include outstanding technical contributions, excellence in leadership and dedication to improving communities.

This year’s class of distinguished alumni includes a former astronaut, entrepreneurs, space tech leaders in government and industry, researchers, professors and more.

The members elected to the ASE/EM Academy of Distinguished Alumni for 2023 are:

Michael Baker

Former NASA Astronaut; Captain, United States Navy (retired); Advisor to Rhodium Scientific LLC.; Inspirational Speaker

Bruce Chesley

Senior Associate, Teaching Science and Technology Inc.

Timothy Price Crain II

Chief Technology Officer, Intuitive Machines

Christopher D’Souza

Navigation Technical Lead for Human Spaceflight, GNC Autonomous Flight Systems Branch, NASA Johnson Space Center

Larry A. French

Chief Executive Officer and Chief Technical Officer, Griffon Aerospace, Inc.

Hiroshi Inaba

Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Denki University

James Royce Lummus, Jr.

Director, Lockheed Martin Aerospace (retired); Adjunct Professor UT Arlington; President, Consulting Services International

G. Edward Powell, Jr.

Chief Executive Officer, TensorX, Inc.

Kevin Sagis

Chief Engineer and Senior Vice President, Reliable Robotics

Paul “Rusty” Thomas

Senior Vice President/General Manager, Space Applications and Chief Technology Officer, Sierra Space

An in-person banquet and ceremony will take place in Austin on April 14 to recognize these alumni for their achievements to induct them into the academy.

View all academy members on our website.