2020 ASE/EM Academy of Distinguished Alumni

April 22, 2020

academy of distinguished alumni banner artTen alumni and one honorary faculty member of the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics (ASE/EM) at The University of Texas at Austin have been elected to the 2020 class of the ASE/EM Academy of Distinguished Alumni.

The ASE/EM Academy of Distinguished Alumni was established in 2019 with the vision to foster excellence within the aerospace engineering, engineering mechanics and computational engineering programs in the UT Austin ASE/EM Department through recognition, participation, encouragement and support of the department. 

Members are recognized and honored by the Academy for leading distinguished careers that include outstanding technical contributions, excellence in leadership and dedication to improving communities. These distinguished alumni include professors, entrepreneurs, government and industry leaders, astronauts, pilots, researchers and more.

The members elected to the ASE/EM Academy of Distinguished Alumni for 2020 are:

Richard Cook, Associate Director for Flight Projects and Mission Success, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

George W. Davis, CEO, Emergent Space Technologies, Inc.

Noboru Kikuchi, President, Toyota Central R&D Laboratories, Inc.

David J. Korsmeyer, Associate Center Director for Research and Technology, NASA Ames Research Center - Silicon Valley, Ca

Patrick Le Tallec, Professor, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, France

Paul Lockhart, Director of Engineering, PEMDAS Technologies and Innovations

Jerry L. McDowell, Deputy Laboratory Director/Executive Vice-President for National Security Programs, Sandia National Laboratories (Retired)

Brendan M. O’Connor, Vice President of Advanced Programs, Emergent Space Technologies

J. Tinsley Oden (Honorary Member), Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering #2; Professor, Aerospace Engineering, Engineering Mechanics, Mathematics, Computer Science, The University of Texas at Austin

Susan Ouzts, Vice President, F-16, Japan F-2 & India F-21 Programs, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company, Lockheed Martin

Richard “Dick” Perkins, Co-founder, Cox & Perkins Exploration, Inc. (Retired)

These 2020 Academy of Distinguished Alumni members will be recognized and inducted to the Academy at a ceremonial banquet in their honor at a later date. Learn more about this distinguished group of alumni on our website.