Jeffrey Andrew Mikeska passed away on April 16, 2009 at the age of 25, after a lifetime of beating the odds.

Thomas J. R. Hughes has been awarded the 2009 Theodore von Karman Medal by the Engineering Mechanics Division of the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Stelios Kyriakides has been selected to receive an Honorary Doctorate  from INSA Lyon (Institut national des sciences applique´es de Lyon) of France.

Mary Wheeler was selected to receive the SIAM Theodore von Karman Prize.

Kendra Harris, the special projects coordinator for Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at The University of Texas at Austin, has been awarded the department’s 2008-09 Staff Excellence Award.