The department is pleased to announce that Karen E. Willcox has joined the Cockrell School of Engineering faculty as a tenured professor of aerospace engineering and engineering mechanics this fall.

This year's UT Austin Unmanned Aerial Vehicles team placed 6th overall among 69 competing teams in the 2018 AUVSI SUAS competition.

Jayant Sirohi is leading UT Austin's efforts on a research project with Uber and the U.S. Army Research Labs (ARL) and Uber Elevate to help develop new rotor technology for Uber's proposed urban aviation ride-share network, uberAir.

Srinivas Bettadpur has been awarded the NASA Exceptional Public Achievement Medal by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

The Longhorn Rocketry Association participated in its second international competition at Spaceport America Cup this summer, placing 9th overall and 8th in their category.