The External Advisory Committee (EAC) consists of industry and government professionals who hold responsible engineering positions in industry or government laboratories. One of the most useful functions of the advisory committee is to provide dialogue between students and practitioners of the profession. The committee structure provides a means for faculty to learn about technical, business, and philosophical trends taking place in industry. Similarly, the committee provides a format in which the department can inform industry about current thinking in academia. EAC meetings are held on campus twice each year.

Dean Wood presenting to EAC
Dean Sharon Wood presents a Cockrell School update during an EAC meeting.

ASE/EM External Advisory Committee Directory



Jorge Capeto
Stress Engineering Services, Inc.
Houston, TX

Spring 2016 - Fall 2018

Chris D'Souza
Deputy Chief, GNC Autonomous Flight Systems Branch
NASA-Johnson Space Center
Houston, TX

Spring 2015 – Fall 2017

George Davis
Founder and President
Emergent Space Technologies
Greenbelt, MD

Fall 2015 – Spring 2018

Scott Erwin
Principal Research Engineer / Manager, Guidance, Navigation & Control Program
Air Force Research Laboratory
Kirtland AFB, NM

Fall 2013 – Spring 2016

Basil Hassan
Sandia National Laboratories
Aerospace Systems Analysis Dept.
Albuquerque, NM

Spring 2013 – Fall 2016

M.D. (Dan) Johnston
Project Manager
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter Project (6200)
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA

Fall 2015 - Spring 2018

Stacey Kelly
Project/Technical Manager for V-22 SAFE Program
Bell Helicopter
Fort Worth, TX

Fall 2012 – Spring 2016

David J. Korsmeyer
Director of Engineering
NASA Ames Research Center

Spring 2015 – Fall 2017

Paul S. Lockhart
Senior Vice President for Space Systems and Services

 Fall 2014 – Spring 2017

Mark Melanson
Manager, Integrated Operations
Labs & Tech Services, Lockheed Martin
Fort Worth, TX

Spring 2015 – Fall 2017

Scot Reinke
Chief Engineer
Embraer E-Jet Program for Triumph Aerostructures - Vought Aircraft Division
Arlington, TX

 Spring 2016 - Fall 2018

Jack Shannon
Emeritus EAC Member
Bellevue, WA


Robert Tachau
Emeritus EAC Member
Manager, Proliferation Detection R&D
Department 5753
Sandia National Laboratories
Albuquerque, NM

Fall 2002 – Present

Scott Wood
Director for Systems Development
Raytheon Space and Airborne Systems
McKinney, TX

Fall 2015 – Spring 2018